Norwegian politicians and academics nominate an eclectic mix for 2022 Nobel Peace Prize

Nobel peace prize award medalPhoto: Håkon Mosvold Larsen / NTB

With the deadline for the nomination of candidates for the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize having expired at midnight on Monday, many prominent Norwegian politicians and professors have been busy finalizing their choices for this year’s prestigious award.

Nobel Committee tight lipped on number of nominations

The deadline for the nomination of 2022 Nobel Peace Prize candidates has expired after a busy period for numerous in Norwegian academia and politics. The Nobel Committee was tight-lipped on the actual number of nominations – published after a meeting of the Committee on March 4 – but there is a belief that it could top 2019’s nominations (329) or possibly 2016’s record of 376.

The Nobel Secretariat begins compiling a shortlist after the nomination deadline closes. This is then discussed with experts in various fields and then an assessment of each candidate is made. These assessments are discussed by the committee and a single winner is announced, usually on October 10.

An eclectic mix of nominations from Norway’s politicians and academics

Though the ceremony itself is still some 10 months away, many Norwegian politicians have made it public who they have nominated. Those on the right side of the spectrum saw an eclectic mix. Erlend Wiborg (FRP) nominated NATO (for the second year running) whilst Olaug Bollestad (KrF) and Hårek Elvenes (H) nominated Belarusian opposition leader, Svetlana Tikhanovskaja.

On the opposite spectrum of Norwegian politics, Rødt’s leader, Bjørnar Moxnes has nominated both WikiLeaks and US whistleblower, Chelsea Manning. Une Bastholm, leader of MDG, has nominated both David Attenborough and The Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES).

A coalition of politicians from the North of Norway – Bård Ludvig Thorheim (H), Willfred Nordlund (SP), Marianne Sivertsen Næss (AP), and Øystein Mathisen (AP) – have thrown their weight behind the Arctic Council.

From the academic world, Professors Kristian Stokke, Mette Andersen, Benedicte Bull, Kenneth Bo Nielsen, Karen O’Brian, and Olle Törnquist have all nominated Civil Disobedience Movement (CDM) in Myanmar.

The CDM non-violently opposes the ruling military junta in the country which has, in recent years, silenced the fallen democratic icon and 1991 Nobel Peace Prize winner, Aung Sang Suu Kyi.

The prize is awarded at a lavish ceremony, at the Oslo City Hall, in December.

Source : © NTB Scanpix / #NorwayToday / #NorwayTodayTravel

Do you have a news tip for Norway Today? We want to hear it. Get in touch at


Be the first to comment on "Norwegian politicians and academics nominate an eclectic mix for 2022 Nobel Peace Prize"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.