Three scientists awarded Nobel Prize in Physics for climate-related research

Nobel PrizePhoto: Niklas Halle'n/Pool via AP, File

Scientists Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi have received this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics.

The three researchers have been jointly honored for research related to the Earth’s climate and complex environmental systems.

Their awarded work is related to “for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems,” according to a press release from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

One-half of the Nobel Peace Prize has been given jointly to Manabe and Hasselmann “for the physical modeling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming.” The other half has been given to Parisi “for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales.”

Parisi comes from Italy and is affiliated with the Sapienza University of Rome, Hasselmann is German and is affiliated with the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, and Manabe has a US and Japanese background and is affiliated with Princeton University.

2020 Nobel Prize in Physics

Last year, on December 8, 2020, Roger Penrose was presented the Nobel Prize in Physics.

Swedish ambassador to the UK Torbjorn Sohlstrom presented Penrose with the award at the ambassador’s residence in London.

Source: ©️ NTB Scanpix / #NorwayTodayTravel /

Do you have a news tip for Norway Today? We want to hear it. Get in touch at


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.