The border control is extended to November

Unclear When Border Control CeasesColour line. Larvik havn.Photo Norway Today Media

The government has decided to continue the border controls on all ferry arrivals from Denmark, Sweden and Germany.

Justice and Public Security Minister Anders Anundsen has decided that the control of persons at the internal Schengen border will continue until November 11, 2016. This is a result of the EU Council on 12 May deciding that Norway, as one of five countries, should be allowed to continue its controls.
Denmark, Sweden, Austria and Germany have already extended their temporary border controls to 12 November.

– I am pleased that the EU agrees that we need to continue our border controls.The external border controls are still not sufficiently safeguarded, and there are still many uncertainties involved regarding the situation in Europe. We have got to ensure that we have our borders under control until a joint European solution have been found, Anundsen  says in a press release.
Previously the controls have just been extended for a month at a time, but in early May the four previously mentioned EU countries and France sent a letter to the European Commission where they asked to be allowed to retain their border controls for another six months. EU gave this the green light on 12 May.

Source: NTB scanpix / Norway Today