Erna Solberg to enter history books by being elected to the parliament for the ninth time

Erna Solberg busWhether she gets to continue as prime minister or not is unclear, but Erna Solberg (H) will still have reason to celebrate. Photo: Hanna Johre / NTB

Erna Solberg (H) may not get a third term as prime minister. But she will be the first in over 100 years to be elected nine times in the Norwegian Storting.

Ever since 1989, Solberg has been elected into the Storting – that is, for over 30 years. She has, however, periodically had a deputy sitting in her place due to Solberg being a minister or prime minister.

This year, she tops the Conservatives’ list in Hordaland and is thus guaranteed a seat in the Storting after the election.

Apart from Solberg, only Kjell Magne Bondevik (KrF) and Kåre Willoch (H) have recently been elected for eight terms.

A new record

With this, Solberg becomes the first person to be elected nine times since Ole I. Langeland and Edvard A. Liljedahl, who were both elected for nine terms until 1912.

The record, however, is held by Mauritz Aarflot from Volda, who was elected for twelve terms between 1854–1888. At that time, they were elected for three years at a time, and the parliamentary representatives sat together for a few months in the period before they went home.

Solberg is now also approaching the record of the legendary representative Jørgen Olavsen, who sat in the Storting at the end of the 19th century, according to NRK.

Top list

In 2017, NRK mapped the representatives who have been elected the most periods. Here is the overview:

Mauritz Aarflot (V): 12, 1854–1888

Ole Nilssen (V): 10, 1865–1894

Jørgen Olafsen (V): 9, 1859–1888

Ole I. Langeland (V): 9, 1886–1912

Erna Solberg (H): 9, 1989–2021

Edvard A. Liljedahl (V / MV / FV): 9, 1880–1909

Jon Neergaard: 8, 1827–1856

Kjell M. Bondevik (KrF): 8, 1973–2005

Kåre Willoch (H): 8, 1958 – 1989

If Carl I. Hagen (FRP) enters the Storting this year, it will be the eighth time he has been elected. He first came in as a deputy for Anders Lange in 1973 but quickly moved up as a permanent representative after Lange’s death in 1974.

Source: © NTB Scanpix / #Norway Today / #NorwayTodayNews

Do you have a news tip for Norway Today? We want to hear it. Get in touch at


Be the first to comment on "Erna Solberg to enter history books by being elected to the parliament for the ninth time"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.