It’s official: Norway puts Iceland and Lithuania on list of “red” countries

IcelandPhoto: Luciano Braga / Unsplash

The Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs extended its global travel guidelines from October 1 to January 15.

At the same time, Iceland and Lithuania will be place on the list of “red” countries from Saturday.

“We are still far from a normal situation, and the infection situation is changing rapidly.

Therefore, we decided to uphold the global travel guidelines that advise against travel that is not strictly necessary to all countries,” Foreign Minister Ine Eriksen Søreide (H) said.

Parts of Sweden and Finland on the list

“We continue to make exceptions for countries in the EEA / Schengen area that have a sufficiently low rate of infection.

The exceptions from the travel council are not an invitation to travel abroad,” Søreide pointed out.

As of Saturday this week, the exemption from the travel guidelines no longer applies to Iceland, Lithuania, the Västerbotten region of Sweden, and the Finnish regions of Central Finland and Päijänne-Häme.

© NTB Scanpix / #Norway Today


Be the first to comment on "It’s official: Norway puts Iceland and Lithuania on list of “red” countries"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.