Jonas Gahr Støre: Now we can finally say it – we did it!

Jonas Gahr StørePhoto: Javad Parsa / NTB

The Labor Party’s (AP) leader Jonas Gahr Støre was greeted with cheers and shouts when he addressed the party’s election HQ audience tonight.

“Now we can finally say it – we did it!” Støre said. 

Støre will likely become Norway’s 36th prime minister. He will take over from Erna Solberg, who has governed the country for eight years.

According to forecasts, the Labor Party is likely to gain a majority together with the Socialist Left Party (SV) and the Center Party (SP).

“Everything indicates that we reached the goal of a (government) change tonight, and that we’ll get a solid majority. As it looks now, we will get a majority for our plan A for a government consisting of the Labor Party, the Socialist Left Party, and the Center Party,” Støre said.

Majority for a red-green government

The Labor Party, the Socialist Left Party, and the Center Party can count on 89 of 169 seats in the Norwegian parliament, the current forecast shows.

Everything is now in place for Støre to move into the Prime Minister’s office in October.

Støre is poised to form a government with his two preferred partners – and avoid being dependent on support from the Red Party or the Green Party.

“The parties that have said that they want to form a new government seem to have a solid majority. It also looks like there will be a majority for the Labor Party, the Socialist Left Party, and the Center Party – our Plan A,” Støre said.

Solberg promises orderly transition 

Norway’s outgoing Prime Minister Erna Solberg says that she will remain in office until the state budget is presented.

“The transition will take place in an orderly manner,” Solberg (H) told NTB on her way to the Storting.

She says that the presentation of next year’s state budget on October 13 is a natural time for a new government to take over.

Source: © NTB Scanpix / #Norway Today / #NorwayTodayNews

Do you have a news tip for Norway Today? We want to hear it. Get in touch at


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.