Ministry Names 3 Strasbourg Nominees

StrasbourgEuropean Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg.Photo: Tor Richardsen / SCANPIX

Norway’s Ministry of Justice has nominated three candidates for the position as judge at the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) in Strasbourg, France.


Norway’s Justice Minister Tor Mikkel Wara (Frp) commented upon the selection of judicial candidates to the European Court of Human Rights, saying “I’m very pleased that Norway has nominated three strong candidates to the European Human Rights Court.’ –

“Each of these candidates are experienced and highly skilled lawyers, and each possesses a solid knowledge of human rights.” – said Minister Wara.

The three Norwegian nominees to adjudicate within the European Court are Judge Elizabeth Baumann, Supreme Court Judge Arnfinn Bårdsen (both from Oslo) and Professor Jørgen Aall (from Bergen).

The sitting Norwegian judge in Strausburg, Erik Møse, resigns next month and is scheduled to return to Norway’s Supreme Court in mid August.

Ultimately, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe chooses which of the three nominees are to be granted the court’s open chair.

The process applied to selecting a Strasbourg judge is tedious and fraught with formalities. One rule is that when the Expert Committee of the Council of Europe is to be presented with three potential candidates; one or more of those candidates must be a woman.

The European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) is a supranational court established
by the European Convention on Human Rights, hearing applications against states
who’ve allegedly breached E.U. human rights provisions.

Judges to the European Court of Human Rights are elected for a non-renewable
term of nine years.


© NTB scanpix / #Norway Today