Norway gets 18 counties


Parliament says yes to the Nord-Trøndelag and Sør-Trøndelag to be joined together in the new large county Trondelag, therefore the number of counties in Norway will be decreased from 19 to 18 affected from 1st of January 2018.

Words like “historic” and “congratulations” expressed by Parliament speak man on Wednesday when it has been sanctioned by majority of the municipal committee members to let the two counties merge, as requested and approved by both counties.

The merger is part of the ongoing municipal and regional reform, which the government has asked the country’s counties and municipalities to consider whether there are opportunities to merge with neighboring counties. Sør-Trøndelag and Nord-Trøndelag accepted in spring to be the first merger in the regional reform.

Merged Trondelag with about 450,000 inhabitants will be the fifth largest county based on their population. Area-wise, the new merged county becomes the country’s sixth largest county.


Source: NTB scanpix / Norway Today