Norway introduces quarantine requirements for two new countries in Europe and several Nordic regions

Gardermoen airportPhoto: Geir Olsen / NTB

The Norwegian government is introducing entry restrictions and quarantine requirements for Latvia, Germany, and eight new Swedish regions.

That means that no regions in Sweden are now “green” on Norway’s infection map.

The regions Blekinge, Dalarna, Jönköping, Kalmar, Kronoberg and Västernorrland changed from “green” to “orange,” while Gävleborg and Örebro changed from “green” to “red.”

At the same time, the Swedish regions of Gotland, Halland, Stockholm, Värmland, Västerbotten, Västmanland, Västra Götaland, Skåne, and Jämtland have all been changed from “orange” to “red.”

No changes are made to entry restrictions or quarantine requirements for Denmark. In Finland, restrictions and quarantine requirements are introduced for two regions, both of which changed from “green” to “orange” – Central Ostrobothnia and Eastern Savonia. 

Latvia and Germany

At the same time, Latvia and Germany changed from “green” to “orange.” Madeira and Portugal remain “orange,” while the Canary Islands, Sardinia, and Sicily remain “red.” Crete, Krosika, the Ionian Islands, and the Balearic Islands remain “dark red” and require quarantine hotels.

Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and the Czech Republic continue to be “green.” The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) still advises against all travel that is not strictly necessary to countries outside the EEA / Schengen and the United Kingdom.

All changes take effect from midnight night to Monday, August 23.

Source: © NTB Scanpix / #Norway Today / #NorwayTodayNews

Do you have a news tip for Norway Today? We want to hear it. Get in touch at


Be the first to comment on "Norway introduces quarantine requirements for two new countries in Europe and several Nordic regions"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.