Norwegian border gets seal of approval by the EU

Unclear When Border Control CeasesColour line. Larvik havn.Photo Norway Today Media

European Commission approves the temporary border controls Norway has introduced the ferry arrivals from Denmark, Sweden and Germany.

In addition to Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Germany and Austria have introduced temporary border controls.

In a recent status report the European Commission gives the green light to all five.

– I can confirm that the current controls are in accordance with the conditions that the Schengen rules require.

The Commission therefore sees no need to propose amendments now. But our goal remains to abolish all internal border controls and return to normal, says EU immigration Commissioner Dimitris Avramopoulos.

EU Council of Ministers gave the green light in May that border controls could continue for six months. It is not yet decided whether they can be extended further when the current arrangement expires on 12 November.

In the status report, the European Commission states that Norway did not report on controls by the deadline, which was set at 12 July.

A reminder was sent on August 12, but it did not materialize until September 8 before the reply from Norway came.

From 12 May to 11 September, a total of 14 people were denied entry to Norway after having been checked. Two applications were received for asylum at the checkpoints.


Source: NTB scanpix / Norway Today