VG: 16 Norwegians denied entry to Russia

Kremlin - Moscow - RussiaPhoto: Michael Parulava / Unsplash

A total of 16 people in Norway are now banned from entering Russia, the Russian Foreign Ministry announced on its website on Friday.

The Russian Foreign Ministry has made a list of 16 people from Norway, nine from Iceland, three from the Faroe Islands, and three from Greenland who are now banned from entering Russia, the newspaper VG reports.

The decision comes in response to Norway and the other countries joining the EU’s sanctions against Russia in connection with the Ukraine war.

The people on the list are MPs, government members, representatives of business and academia, the media, as well as public figures who they say “actively promote anti-Russian rhetoric.”

VG contacted the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Friday night, but the ministry stated they had not been notified about the entry ban.

Source: © NTB Scanpix / #Norway Today / #NorwayTodayNews

Do you have a news tip for Norway Today? We want to hear it. Get in touch at


Be the first to comment on "VG: 16 Norwegians denied entry to Russia"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.