Norway and the United Kingdom have signed a Brexit agreement

Britain Brexit EU FlagBrexit.Photo: Pixabay

Foreign Minister Ine Eriksen Søreide (H) has signed an agreement that ensures continuity for Norway in the transition phase after Brexit.

The agreement was signed in London on Tuesday afternoon and is signed between the UK on the one hand and the three EEA countries Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein on the other.

The agreement secures the rights of about 20,000 Norwegians in the United Kingdom and 15,000 Britons in Norway.

– “They retain the same rights they have today,” says Eriksen Søreide on the phone from London.

In addition to citizens’ rights, the agreement covers issues such as flow of goods, customs procedures, police cooperation and public procurement.

The UK leaves the EU at midnight Norwegian time on the 31st of January. The British will then embark on a transitional period which will basically last through 2020.

The transitional arrangements also cover Norway, which means that most things will continue as before through the end of the year.

– Everything is really like today. The UK continues as if it had been a member of the EU and the EEA, explains Eriksen Søreide.

The next task will now be to negotiate a new free trade agreement for the time after 2020.

– We have made all preparations to start negotiations with the British on the future relationship, assures the Foreign Minister.

© NTB Scanpix / #Norway Today


Be the first to comment on "Norway and the United Kingdom have signed a Brexit agreement"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.