Solberg’s government introduces strict corona measures in 15 new municipalities as of midnight

Bent HøiePhoto: Terje Pedersen / NTB

On Sunday, Minister of Health Bent Høie (H) announced that an alcohol serving ban would be introduced and that fitness centers would be closed in the 15 border zone municipalities in Eastern Norway.

The Minister of Health presented the government’s new measures for the 15 new municipalities following the outbreak of the British mutated corona variant in Nordre Follo.

The 15 affected municipalities are: Asker, Aurskog-Høland, Bærum, Drammen, Horten, Lier, Lillestrøm, Lunner, Lørenskog, Marker, Nittedal, Rakkestad, Rælingen, Råde, and Skiptvet.

The measures in these municipalities will apply from midnight to January 31, 2021.

Høie asked the inhabitants of the 15 municipalities to limit social contact and avoid visits by more than five people.

Similar to measures in the Oslo region

“The municipalities in the peripheral zone have themselves asked the government to introduce stricter measures.

“The measures will be largely similar to the measures in the ten municipalities around Oslo,” Høie said.

But there will still be some differences. Among other things, primary schools and kindergartens will operate at a “yellow” level, while upper secondary schools will operate at a “red” level. 

Shopping centers have to be closed, but shops, restaurants, and libraries, can remain. 

Children and young people under the age of 20 are also allowed to engage in sports and leisure activities.

Vinmonopolet reopens

Furthermore, the government decided that Vinmonopolet, the state-owned alcoholic beverage retailer, could reopen in the ten municipalities affected by the English variant of the coronavirus in Eastern Norway.

On Sunday, Nordre Follo announced eleven new cases of the British coronavirus variant.

A total of 17 cases of the virus variant have been detected in the municipality.

Source: #Norway Today, #NorwayTodayNews

Do you have a news tip for Norway Today? We want to hear it. Get in touch at


Be the first to comment on "Solberg’s government introduces strict corona measures in 15 new municipalities as of midnight"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.