Sports journalists in Norway award annual prize to Erling Braut Haaland

Erling Braut HaalandPhoto: Norsk Toppfotball / NTB

The sports journalists in Norway have named Erling Braut Haaland the sports figure of the year. 

“Votes were given to many athletes from a wide range of sports, but Haaland’s victory was clear,” Reidar Sollie, the Norwegian Sports Journalists’ Association leader, noted.

Ada Hegerberg won in 2016, but this is the first time that a male Norwegian football player won the prize since Tom Lund in 1981.

For the past three years, the award has gone to running stars. Karsten Warholm won in 2017 and 2019, Jakob Ingebrigtsen in 2018.

Haaland was behind Warholm last year, but this year he clearly topped the list with 110 points. 

Biathlete Marte Olsbu Røiseland got 72 points and golfer Viktor Hovland 58.

Bodø / Glimt, this year’s superb league champion in football, came fourth with 32 points, while Warholm, despite a new strong season, had to settle for fifth place.

© NTB Scanpix / #Norway Today


Be the first to comment on "Sports journalists in Norway award annual prize to Erling Braut Haaland"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.