Countermeasures: Russia closes its airspace to planes from 36 countries – including Norway

Aeroflot - Sheremetyevo airport MoscowPhoto: AP Photo / Sergei Grits, File

Russia is closing its airspace to airlines from 36 countries, including Norway, after the EU and a number of countries closed their airspace to Russian aircraft on Sunday.

Sweden, Denmark, and a number of EU countries are also on the list published by the Russian aviation authorities. The UK is also on the list.

The restrictions are a retaliatory measure after several countries and the EU decided to close their airspace to Russian planes this weekend, the Russian aviation authorities wrote in its announcement.

From Monday, Russian planes will be banned from landing, taking off, and flying over EU countries.

Russian aviation authorities add that airlines from the 36 countries can only fly into Russian airspace with a special permit.

Canada is also on the list, as it also decided to close its airspace to Russian aircraft this weekend. The United States is keeping its airspace open. 

Source: © NTB Scanpix / #Norway Today / #NorwayTodayNews

Do you have a news tip for Norway Today? We want to hear it. Get in touch at


Be the first to comment on "Countermeasures: Russia closes its airspace to planes from 36 countries – including Norway"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.